Knowledge Base

Classes and Prestige Ranks

There are 8 classes in World War Z: Gunslinger, Hellraiser, Medic, Fixer, Slasher, Exterminator, Dronemaster and Vanguard - each with their own unique perks and play styles. With several perks to pick there's countless of possibilities for gameplay variabilities:

  • Gunslinger – The Gunslinger is a ranged combat expert who uses automatic rifles and grenades to thin the swarm and receives bonuses for landing headshots.
  • Hellraiser – Your trusty explosives experts, Hellraisers use C4, grenade launchers and claymores to take out large numbers of zombies at a time.
  • Slasher – Slashers have perks that increase melee damage and can equip tasers for electrifying results.
  • Medic – Armed with a Stim Pistol, Medics heal and boost the team from a distance, with special bonuses for using SMGs.
  • Fixer – A highly versatile member of the squad, the Fixer can boost the team’s firepower with explosive ammo boxes, hide players from zombies with masking grenades, and open hidden loot caches with breaching charges.
  • Exterminator – Fire is the answer! Equipped with Molotov cocktails and increased fire damage, the Exterminator just wants to watch the undead burn.
  • Dronemaster - This highly versatile character comes with its own personal drone which stuns zombies when they get too close for comfort. You can customize your drone in the perk tree to suit your play style and squad comp: increase its offensive capabilities to make it more lethal in an assault, or raise its defensive powers to better support your team.
  • Vanguard - The Vanguard is armed with an electrified shield that can plow through the horde with devastating efficiency.


While playing the game you will earn XP and Supplies (usually referred to as Coins) that you can use towards upgrading your Classes and Weapons.  There are 13 tiers for each class and most of them have 3 perks to pick from a single tier. You can't have all perks active at the same time, but you can save 3 builds as a Loadout. Additionally you can buy prestige rank after fully upgrading your class.

Prestige Rank

After reaching the maximum class level you have the opportunity to purchase Prestige Rank. It will reset class progress to level 1 and will give additional Red Perk in return. Red Perks work simultaneously so you don't have to worry which one to pick. You can get 4 new perks with Prestige Ranks alongside Prestige Borders around their character picture in the menu. Prestige Rank 5 will get you final Prestige Border, additional Ranks will only give you progression towards your Profile Level.

Don't forget that some unique weapon variants require you to upgrade a certain class to Prestige Rank 2. You can see all variants and requirements under the Weapon Customization menu in game.

Was this article helpful?

1 out of 1 found this helpful